Courthouse Security

The Court Security Division of the Peoria County Sheriff’s Office is responsible for providing security to the Peoria County Courthouse: Police Peoria County Sheriff’s Department 1825 Patch

  • 14 Courtrooms
  • Offices within the Courthouse
  • Courthouse Plaza and surrounding one square block of the courthouse exterior

Everyone entering the Courthouse must pass through a screening system that utilizes a metal detector and an x-ray machine.  Additional security measures include cameras, duress alarms, and electronic doors.


Peoria County Ordinance for Courthouse and Courthouse Square

  • Restricted items
  • Prohibitive Behavior

Court Security Employees

  • 11 Court Security Officers
  • 20 Part-Time Bailiffs
  • 3 Clerks (Court Security/Civil Process Duties)